Well, I said I would get back to y’all on the frigatebirds (I am unsure of that spelling, but Wikipedia has it as one word, so I’m going to go with it). These birds are so beautiful to watch in the air. I especially loved how the red throat pouch stood out against the blue skies. I couldn’t remember what we were told about the red throat, so I did some research. Apparently, the males have the red, which makes sense if you know much about the coloring of birds. But I think what we must have been told is that the younger males have a much paler color of red. A photo in the slideshow from this post has an example of what I believe must be a younger male. But I took several photos over the course of the whole trip, hoping to get a really good example of the red throat. Here are my favorites.

The frigatebird is also known as the Pirate bird.



These birds are simply majestic. Apparently they are also thieves, feeding off chicks from other nests.





They feed by snatching food while in flight. Here, a frigatebird snatches a fish from a pond near Las Gietas.



This is not my photo, but I wanted you to see the throat pouch inflated. It is called a gular pouch, and it is inflated during mating season to attract a mate. Photo courtesy of weforanimals.com.



The Galapagos Islands are a wonderful place to bird watch. I think they must offer packages tailored around that purpose. I know you would not be disappointed if you took one of those tours. Just do your research first, and come in the right season.

Ok campers, I am off to Cuenca for the next few days, and won’t have internet while I am there. Cross your fingers, wish me luck, send me good chi. Today is the Day of the Dead, and I couldn’t get a bus ticket for any earlier than 6pm, which puts me in Cuenca by 9pm, if I am lucky. So I may miss all the good stuff today. But there are festivities all weekend because it is also the celebration of Cuenca’s independence, so hopefully I will come back with great photos to share.

Besos!

